Greens are Super Foods

His and her salads.

Eating greens is the number one activity of a nutritarian. Greens are very low in calories but have the highest nutrient content. Most greens are at the top of the ANDI (Aggregate Nutrient Density Index) list and provide more nutrients per calorie than any other food we can eat. On Sunday we make a huge salad to eat the rest of the week. I like arugula because it is part of the cruciferous family and therefore good for fighting cancer. My husband likes romaine and field greens along with peppers, broccoli, onions, tomatoes, and mushrooms. I add beans, carrots, and cauliflower to mine. It is important to chew the food well so that our bodies can gain as many nutrients as possible from these nutrient-dense foods.

After work I make a green smoothie. I mix fruit and coconut water along with a cup of greens. A cup of spinach is about 10 calories. Spinach is a mild green and nearly tasteless in a fruit smoothie. Pureeing greens like this increases the nutrients our bodies absorb from them.

In the evening I eat cooked greens like Swiss chard, collards, or kale with garlic, onions, and mushrooms over beans and rice. I drizzle flaxseed oil over it and Braggs Aminos. At night I sometimes treat myself to a banana “ice cream”. I have never added all these calories up, but eating like this keeps me at a desirable weight without much trouble. I am rarely hungry. Breakfast is the only time I don’t eat greens. I have coffee, a cup of soymilk, and the original Bear Naked granola.

God is like these greens. We can “chew” on his words every day by meditating to get the most out of them (Psalm 1:1-4). Memorizing verses (I’m really bad at that) and writing them down, reading several interpretations, using a Greek dictionary or chain reference book can help. Often a verse will mean one thing to us and something else when our situations change. God’s word is alive (Hebrews 4:12).

We can sing to Him. I was listening to Christian rock music one Christmas after the Epiphany and was thrilled to realize that they played music like this all year round. Now I listen to praise music several times a day and I consider it a time of communion with God. I feel very fortunate to live in a time and place where I can hear music like this. If you don’t have a station nearby, most stations will stream their music through the Internet.

We can pray with Jesus Christ as our mediator and boldly approach God and He will hear us (Hebrews 9:15). One time when I was particularly troubled, I fell asleep praying and woke hearing God speaking Psalms of love to me. Praying brings joy to my heart. I know my Lord will take care of whatever is troubling me. When I found out I had breast cancer, I heard a song on the radio asking God to light up the sky to show us he was right there with us (The Afters). As I drove, I prayed along with the singer. It was a very cloudy day but God immediately parted the sky for me, and the sun came out and did not go back behind the clouds until I arrived home and went inside. Prayer is an amazing gift. There are so many moments like these in my life when God makes me feel so close to Him, but I would never have that if I didn’t pray. He loves us so much; call on Jesus Christ and speak to Him today. Tell him that you love Him.

2 Comments

Have a thought to share? Comment here.

