Nutritarian Dining: A recipe that works

Not even one vegetarian entrée on this menu.

It is always a challenge to find something on a restaurant menu that meets the nutritarian standards of “good food.” A salad is the best choice but that gets boring. Beans are an excellent source of nutrition but unless it’s a Mexican restaurant, they are often relegated to the back of the pantry. Sometimes I just order the vegetable side dishes. Recently a friend of mine introduced me to Burmese vegetarian food with lots of tomato curry and wonderfully imaginative salads. I tried to replicate it at home but it lacked some flavors.

Changing to a different way of cooking presents a new learning experience that I’m apt to fail at a few times before I get a recipe right. If you are struggling to learn how to eat this way, don’t give up! Chef Teton said that a recipe is only a guide and that it’s fine to just learn one new recipe at a time, eat it a lot, and then move on to a new one. I’m posting my favorite bean recipe on the Nutritarian tab for you. It is simple because that’s the way I cook!

We like to keep an account of how well we are doing. It is human nature to find ourselves coming up short. This mental accountant is called the accuser in the Bible, another name for Satan. When we listen to the accuser (Revelation 12:10), we always come up short and horribly, shamefully, worthlessly so. The accuser wants us to feel so badly about ourselves and how God must see us that we should give up altogether. Do you know the accuser?

God already knows we fall short (Romans 3:23). In fact, the distance between us and God is so great that it is meaningless to compare ourselves with others. It is like a black ant arguing with a red ant about who is closer to human size. If I judge myself on how “good” I am performing in my Christian life, I fall short of the mark each time. That is why I must wrap my heart around my Savior Jesus who takes what I have done/thought/given to glorify God and makes it holy (Hebrews 12:18-24).

So what does God really want? I think He wants me to spend time with Him (Luke 5:16). He wants me to “walk with Him” (Micah 6:8). I remember the first time I sat around a campfire with others and sang praise songs and the wonderful warmth of His love suddenly falling around us. It gave me a love for others that I always seek to replicate. Jesus said that we should be perfect like God is perfect but that does not mean in what we do or how well we are fighting the sin in our lives. It actually means that we should love others like He does (Matthew 5:43-48). When we spend time with Christ, His love compels us to love others and to live holy lives (James 2:18). Our Christian lives have less to do with fighting greed, lust, gluttony, or name your vice, and more to do with spending time with God and loving others. It is a simple recipe and one that works.

Have a thought to share? Comment here.

