Slow Cooking Nutritarian Food

Headed for the soup bowl

I love each season’s foods all the more now because I have developed a taste for vegetables. What a variety of food we have throughout the year in both vegetables and fruits. Berries and melons are showing up less and less in the stores but acorn and butternut squash, pumpkin and spaghetti squash have taken their place.

I bought a butternut squash and used my carrot peeler to peel the squash. Then I cut it up in 1 inch squares and threw them in the slow cooker (aka crock pot) with a couple of cups of coconut milk. I added garlic and onion because these two vegetables are on my “must have” list for fighting cancer. Then I put is some curry spices and let it cook all day. When I got home from work, I poured it into the blender and made a delicious creamy soup. It was so easy!

Did you know that God offers us a variety of gifts in life (Ecclesiastes 3:1)? With each season of our lives, He adds something new (Galatians 5:22). Sometimes he adds it through suffering (Hebrews 12:10-11) like He did for me when I got cancer and He turned my focus outward towards others, like helping me write this blog, and also singing up front in church with the band. He took the things I loved and helped me to share them.

Jesus tells a story about a king who has a banquet but all his friends and family give lame excuses about why they can’t come. So the king opens the door to the whole kingdom and invites everyone. Jesus is telling us that life in Him is a banquet and we are all invited (Matthew 22:1-10). God offers us so much: comfort during trouble, joy and peace regardless of our circumstances, community with others who also love God, and everlasting life, just to name a few. Loving Jesus is so easy. Be clothed with Christ (Matthew 22:11-13) because He is the one God has given to save us from our sin (Acts 4:11-12).

2 Comments

Have a thought to share? Comment here.

