Nutritarian Umami Foods and Pure Goodness or Coincidence

Cool photo by Tobacconist University Taste College

Cool photo by Tobacconist University Taste College

You have heard of sweet, salty, bitter and sour tastes but I recently learned of another taste: umami, meaning delicious. This taste is intriguing and occurs in several types of foods naturally. It is close to salty but more savory, and tastes rich with a delicious and lasting aftertaste.

Tomatoes are umami and also rich in lycopene which may help to lower cholesterol levels. Sweet potatoes are umami and filled with vitamins and minerals to help our heart health, bone health, and even mental health. Other umami foods are seaweed vegetables, some meats and shell-fish, soy sauce,  and green tea. We can also combine foods to create umami flavors.

I have some favorite umami foods. I love the combination of flax oil and Bragg Liquid Aminos. This dressing is good with cooked and raw greens. Wakame sea vegetables are incredibly delicious on salads and roasted vegetables. Coconut mana can add an umami flavoring to foods. Try it on sweet potatoes and popcorn, and your kids will say, “OOOh, Mommy!”.

We can put a little umami in our faith too, by giving God the credit when a more secular view would call the event good luck or coincidence. When I first found out I had breast cancer, it was raining hard and had been all day. I was driving home from work and the song, Light Up the Sky by the Afters came on the radio. The negativity of my mindset that day made me scoff at the boldness of someone actually asking God to light up the sky to show her that He was with her, but the Holy Spirit that resides within me spoke out in my thoughts and told me to ask Him. So I did. I prayed that God would show me that He would be with me through the coming trial. I said it with anger and resentment, but I meant it. I really wanted to know He would be with me. The moment I said it, it stopped raining, and the sun poked through the clouds! It remained sunny the entire drive home and when I went into my house and looked out my window, the clouds and rain had returned.

Without faith it is impossible to please God, because anyone who comes to him must believe that he exists and that he rewards those who earnestly seek him (Hebrews 11:6). We can put a little umami in our lives by trusting that God works for the good of all of us. Believe that He wants to communicate with you in signs and wonders and maybe even ask Him those daring questions. I did and it made a world of difference to me on that dark day.

Do you have an umami faith event or food you would like to share?

1 Comment

  1. i love Japanese sweet potatoes! they are white on the inside…a little less sweet and a little more savory than jewel sweet potatoes.

    faith without works is dead. five years ago i gave up habits that were hurting me physically, emotional, and most of all spiritually. not knowing what my life would be like or how to change…i blindly followed those around me, trusting God was changing my life for the better by speaking through the people in my life who loved me the most. my life is brighter now, thanks to acting on faith and trust

Have a thought to share? Comment here.

