Food Happy and Joy in the Christian Walk

The God of Abraham is our Common Ground

The God of Abraham is our Common Ground

The other day I rode my bike to the grocery store in search of fresh nutritarian food: greens, brightly colored vegetables, fruits, and nuts. I was listening to Christian music on my iPod, praising Jesus Christ as I made way to the organic produce when I suddenly realized how very happy I was.  I was happy to be eating like this, and not buying conventional foods but food I truly believe is a powerful antidote to many diseases. I felt deep gratitude to Christ that He led me to the truth.

I’m not the only who knows the truth about food. In fact, the secrete to healthy eating is out: eat more fruits and vegetables and stay away from processed foods, sugary drinks, and dairy. White breads, white rice, and any other refined grain product (crackers, bagels, etc.) quickly turn to sugary poison in our bodies. Dr. Fuhrman prescribes a low whole grain diet, focusing mainly on a variety of greens and vegetables as the main food source because of their high nutrient value. His motto: The Salad is The Main Dish.

It saddens me that so many people continue eating the standard American Diet of pizza (white bread and sugary, salty tomato sauce with high fat cheese), hamburgers (mad cow disease is enough to keep me away but the bun and the ketchup are all sugar), and french fries (high fat, high starch that quickly turns to sugar and loads of salt)–just to name a few culprits. However, I know that SAD food is addictive and causes cravings and these cravings and addictions make us very unhappy in the long run, in fact, they make us sick. I know many people I love eat this way, in fact, most of them do.

Yesterday I was in the same grocery store (I go almost every day) and I bought the American Bible Society’s new magazine special “Messages from God: What the Bible Reveals to You.” I’m a sucker for stuff like that :). The Muslim clerk said to me, “Oh, so now you are going to start following God?”

It saddens me to know that many people continue on a path of righteous works thinking these will bring us eternal life. The way to God the Father is through Jesus Christ. We cannot work our way into heaven. I told the clerk, “I follow God everyday.” So he told me, “Do you know the Hindu religion has 82 gods?” I told him, “I follow Abraham’s God.” He said, “Allah, I do too.”

I live in a religiously diverse area. There are many Muslims here, Jews, Hindus, and Buddhists. With all the religious tension in the world today, many well-educated people are convinced that any religion is worthless, even worse, a detriment to society as a whole. Science cannot prove the existence of God, so therefore, there is no god. I don’t know how I was so lucky to find faith, but I have it and in it is great joy, an unexplainable joy, a joy that lives regardless of my circumstances.

To the Jews who had believed him, Jesus said, “If you hold to my teaching, you are really my disciples. Then you will know the truth, and the truth will set you free.” I am set free from trying to earn my salvation: I have eternal life. I am an eternal being through my faith in Christ. I am free of many food addictions for which I also thank my Savior for leading me to that truth. I am on a journey and I know that even now, Jesus is trying to break me free of areas of slavery in my life. I cannot see what they are because my sin blinds me, but I call out to him in my darkness and, as a Sunday school friend said, He Leadeth Me.

Have a thought to share? Comment here.

