A Nutritarian Burger and A Blessing from Your Father

Without the bun

Without the bun

I have had a craving for a burger lately. This is odd because I hardly ever ate burgers even when I was on the SAD diet. I think it is because the weather has become warmer and as I ride my bike through the neighborhood at dinner time, I can smell burgers cooking. Smells can “say” so much.

Since any conventional hamburger I might buy could be old and decayed, heavy on the pro-inflammatory Omega 6, and processed in several places only to be “mixed” together at the final and listed processing plant, I turn to the many and varied recipes for bean burgers, AKA vegetarian hamburgers.

This summer I plan on making a lot of bean burgers. Here’s my plan. Any cooked and mashed up bean will do, along with any seasoning you like. You can even use Grill Master made-for-meat seasoning if that is what you like. My sweet husband loves white beans; I love black beans. Black beans go well with hot spices and sweet veggies like corn, shredded carrots and beets. Peppers tend to override any flavor so I stay away from them, but they can certainly be used for added sweetness. White beans go well with garlic and onions. Garlic and onions cooked mash well; raw garlic and onion allows for more flavor. Red beans are another choice and give the burger a meat-like color. Once you choose your bean and the spice, you will need some glue to hold it all together like whole wheat flour or even oatmeal.

For my first attempt of the season, I fried onions, mushrooms, and garlic in coconut oil, then added cooked black beans, stirred in some corn, and added wakeme sea vegetables and Bragg’s Liquid Aminos  instead of salt. I sprinkled some Italian seasoning and some Garam Masala over it and mashed it with a potato masher. I did a little taste test. It was pretty good so I added the glue: oatmeal and oat bran until it was the consistency of something I could form into patties. I fried the patties in a little more coconut oil and served it on a whole grain english muffin with cilantro, avocado, lettuce, onions, and tomato. I also added some homemade banana pepper sauce as a condiment that a friend gave to me. It was delicious and I have saved the recipie. It is on my food tab.

Like the smells of hamburger cooking, we are often attracted by things that are not particularly good for us. Attractions can lead to desires that are difficult to break. I am certain that God wants to bless us physically. He wants us to be well, to be in good health and looking fit. He wants us to enjoy the gifts our bodies bring us and not to be ashamed of them. Here is a funny thing about me: I believe that when sin entered the world (when Eve ate the apple) our minds became dull and we stopped using our brains as we could have. Do you know that we only use a tenth of our brain power? Isn’t that odd? Why would we have these wonderful brains and not be able to use them to their full potential? So, when Christ returns and the curse of sin is fully removed through Him, I think we will have full use of this wonderful muscle that has been on hold for so long. I look forward to that and eating healthfully has been energizing for my brain! I think better.

I used to live for the next cup of coffee or sugary drink just so I could think better. But not anymore. Christ has shown me what is really good for my brain. He has freed me from those addictive chains. And He will free you too. The Father wants to bless us in this way. We don’t have to give up everything at once. Start eating greens and vegetables as the main food in your diet, before eating any SAD food, and  you will begin to prefer the more healthful foods. It will happen for you. I remember how hard it was to think I would never eat butter on my bread again. I laugh at that because there are so many more things we can put on bread than butter! There is SO much more good food than SAD food. Start exploring it today 🙂

When you pray and ask for something, believe that you have received it, and you will be given whatever you ask for. —  Mark 11:24

Have a thought to share? Comment here.

