New Study on Sugar Consumption and Old Time Religion

Happy Valentine Pomegranate Smoothie

Happy Valentine Pomegranate Smoothie

My Valentine showed me an article from The Associated Press in the Washington post about a very important recent study done on sugar consumption. The study finds that sugar in small amounts is fine, but more can lead to death. I think most of us knew this, however it is nice to know the guys in the white lab coats now know it too. What I found most surprising about their study is that in the past five years, sugar consumption has decreased. People are getting the message, even without this study.

Sugar is not our friend, and it never will be. Over consumption leads to obesity and if you are one of those who are technically overweight with a body mass index of 25-30, know that you are not alone. Arriving at this stage is not very hard given the food that is out there. Remember that processed food makers do not care if their food is bad for you, they care about selling it to you. They will make it as sugary as possible (soda), as fat as possible (chips), and as salty as possible (almost all processed foods). They will find the exact mix of each of these ingredients that make their product extremely delicious. This is not food at this point, it is a “taste sensation” and if you get addicted to it (“you can’t eat just one!”), then all the better. Really, it sounds like a corny movie of good versus evil, doesn’t it?

Dr. Fuhrman has hundreds of examples of real people loosing 20, 40, 50, even hundreds of pounds. People who never had much success with diets start throwing out salt, sugar, and fat, and bringing in greens, vegetables, fruits, nuts, seeds, beans and grains and find a whole new delicious world out there. I was happy to switch over to Dr. Fuhrman’s way of eating for my health and for my husband’s health. I have more energy and more fun with food than I ever did eating all those pop tarts. In fact, when I noticed a new peanut butter flavored pop tart in a promotional display with photos of intensely smiling children on it, I thought that looks delicious. And you know what, I bet it is delicious, delicious to the point of addiction, so I left it alone. I would rather have a pomegranate banana smoothie, anyway.

I hope you will try this Valentine treat:  get two pomegranate, slice them, and whack them on the back until the seeds pop out. Throw the seeds and two bananas along with 1/4 cup tahini or cashew butter and a little almond milk and 1/4 cup ground flax seeds into a blender and blend until smooth. Makes enough for you and your Valentine.

I find most people want simple, basic, goodness in food and in religion. Don’t poison it with too much sugar and salt or too much hell fire and brimstone. Making us feel guilty is a huge burden to our days and results in throwing in the towel and giving up on both.

Recently I read that a retirement home needed some musicians for their Sunday services. I am not much of a singer and I can only play a few chords on the guitar, but I love to sing and I do know a lot of those old-time religion songs like Just As I Am and Leaning on The Everlasting Arms. I love to sing His story and now I will get to sing it to some elderly people who just want to praise Him in song. I wonder what I will be like in my old age, if I will want just the simple basic goodness of singing God’s praises every day. I hope so.

Sing and make music from your heart to the Lord–Ephesians 5:19

3 Comments

Have a thought to share? Comment here.

