Soda Love and God’s Love

Soda Stream lets you choose how much sugar to put in your soda.

Soda Stream lets you choose how much sugar to put in your soda.

“Can I get you something to drink?” The flight attendant had her hand at the ready on a can of soda and I felt like a puppy at feeding time. What had I gotten myself into? I was returning from a week at Honduras Outreach, a church-related mission ranch in rural Honduras that had served me soda at every meal in every flavor of my childhood, my favorites being cream and orange. It occurred to me I was addicted to soda after only a week of drinking it. Yikes! I asked the flight attendant for water and drown my sorrows.

My second grade class will tell you there’s nothing wrong with a soda every once in a while and I have to agree. For me, too many rules take away too many pleasures in life, and if soda is something you’ve grown to love, perhaps the new “home sodas” are an answer.

I have Soda Stream. A CO2 cylinder squirts compressed air into a bottle of water I screw into the machine. It allows me to make club soda at home and eliminates the environmental problem of buying plastic bottles of sparkling water. It comes with soda syrup I can add if I want soda–they have all flavors and you can add a little or none at all :). The serving size contains only 8 grams of sugar compared to 20+ grams in the store-bought brands, and does not contain high fructose syrup. The process is very easy and quick and when a cylinder runs out, I can exchange it for a full one. Not a bad deal for this little puppy.

Although drinking soda every day is not ideal, the power of addiction to it can make us want to give up on diets. But making soda at home is at least better than store-bought sodas. The same is true with many habits and weaknesses in life, we may not be strong enough to eliminate them fully but reducing the power for harm is a good strategy.

Religion can be the same way. Guilt over repetitive sins, a big mistake kind of sin, or weaknesses can make us want to turn away from God, to give up, or just make us plain sad all the time. Christ, who is the constant and final sacrifice for all our sins past, present, and future, can reduce the guilt and sadness we find when we realize we are not perfect. Because Christ has opened the door to God and given us freedom from sin, we have the power to worship God with joy and thanksgiving instead of fear of retaliation for what we’ve done. And this joy is constant, it is not a one-time deal. God’s grace goes on and on and never stops. When we can come to God as a sinner and know that He still loves us and always will, then we have found Him, the Christ, the one who loves us just as we are.

Behold, I stand at the door and knock. If anyone hears my voice and opens the door, I will come in to him and eat with him, and he with me.

Revelation 3:20

2 Comments

Have a thought to share? Comment here.

